Menu

Our guides are all from humble backgrounds and are keen and fun to interact with. Curious about the rest of our team?


Suraj Hattarkal

Suraj lives in Matunga Labour Camp, in Dharavi, with his parents and elder sister. He is in his final year at University. 

Suraj is a tug of war player for Maharasthra- as anchorman- and his team won a bronze medal for 2011/12. Suraj's dream is to play for India at tug of war. He is also a wrestler. 

He also likes to watch his movies, such a 3 Idiots and Slumdog Millionaire. His favourite food is Punjabi and Gujurati, and his favourite snack is dhokla. 

He likes the job because he enjoys communicating with people.

Chetan Pawar

Chetan was born in Goregaon, Mumbai and now lives in Wadala with his family including two brothers. 

Another busy man, Chetan is in his final year studying Management Studies, as in the future he wants to be a businessman. He would love to combine business with his passion for sports, his favourites being squash, cricket and pool.

Rajesh

Rajesh is one of our newest guides. He grew up just a stone’s throw away from our Dharavi office!

Rajesh was born in Goa but his family moved to Dharavi when he was 3 because of the job opportunities available here. After school, Raj worked at a fast food chain and a domestic call centre before joining us here at Reality. In addition to the fantastic commute, Raj enjoys the job because he is able to improve his English and meet people from all over the world.

In his free time, Raj enjoys hanging out and having a chai with his friends, going to the movies and visiting his relatives.

Manoj Medwal

Manoj hopes to one day be a hairdresser and tattoo designer either in the UK or Switzerland.

Manoj was born in Mumbai, although his family is from Delhi. On the "Where is better- Mumbai or Delhi?" debate, he diplomatically says that they are both great, although Delhi is better in the winter. He goes back there every year.

Manoj enjoys working at Reality because he gets to practise his English, and in the future he wants to be a hairdresser and tattoo designer either in the UK or Switzerland - because in both these places the people are great. He says that with such a job, he would be able to support his mother and father properly in the future. He currently lives in Mahalaxmi with them.

Rakesh Shetty

Rakesh was born and currently lives in Malad with his family, who are from Mangalore. 

Previous jobs include working as a supervisor at Mahalaxmi Race course. 

He loves spending time with friends playing cricket and watching movies. His ambition is to eventually run own restaurant- serving South Indian food- mostly vegetarian. 

What he loves about his job is meeting different kinds of people and learning about different cultures.

Nilesh Vaidya

Nilesh lives in Mahalaxmi with parents, 2 brothers and sister- he's the youngest of the family; he is at his final year at school. 

In his spare time he likes surfing the internet, having fun with friends and watching comedy movies. Also he likes indoor games like carrom (an Indian game), and he claims to be a World Master at chess. 

In the future he wants to be a radio jockey, hopefully at his favourite station 93.5FM. In the meantime, he really enjoys his job because he gets to know more about Mumbai and is well-paid. 

His favourite food is butter chicken.

Jitu Jain

Jitu, originally from Malad in north Mumbai, came to Dharavi when he was 15 to work in the recycling business.

After a few years he became curious about the tours that were passing the factory. After learning more about the tours and related programs, he decided to become a guide with us!

Jitu loves having an active job in which he can meet people from around the world while having a positive impact on his adopted community. In his free time Jitu loves playing computer games. He is also an aspiring businessman who is currently saving money to one day start his own recycling business!

Devendra

Dev’s family is originally from Ratnagiri, home of delicious seafood curry and the alfonso mango.

He was born and raised in the northern Mumbai suburb of Thane and grew up passionate about music, specifically the drums. Dev became certified as a computer hardware engineer but his first job exposed him to the world of web design. After switching job roles and gaining necessary experience in the field, Dev decided to head out on his own and do web design on a freelance basis.

Dev joined Reality on a part time basis to supplement his income as his freelance works picks up. He was drawn to the company because of Reality’s commitment to re-invest the profits in the community. He enjoys the job because it allows him to improve his public speaking skills as well as his English. Dev is a busy guy, but when he finds some free time he enjoys playing cricket and listening to music.

Siddhi Gunjal

Like Nilesh, Dinesh and Manoj he lives in the neighborhood of Dhobi Ghat with his parents and 11-year-old sister. 

We were lucky to get him as he was on a way to a job interview at a mobile phone shop when his best friend Nilesh called him to come to Dharavi to meet RTT's founder, Krishna. He dropped everything and rushed to the slum as he heard so many great things about being a tour guide at Reality Tours from his friends. 

The 20-year-old student just finished his Junior College years and studies bachelor of commerce currently. He doesn't know yet in which direction he wants to go but he is very interested in science and engineering. 

Sunmohan Rajlu aka Sunny

Sunny lives true to his name - he likes to laugh and smile. The 20-year-old student lives in Thane with his family and has to travel a very long way for work. 

He used to work at an online shopping centre during the night shift and his health suffered a lot in this time. That's why he applied at Reality Tours after reading a newspaper ad. 

After starting with Reality Tours in November, not only did his health become better, but his English skills also improved as well as his ability to speak clearly and freely. He is very proud of this development.

In his free time he works as a DJ at weddings, birthdays and other events. He says he isn't a professional but it's a lot of fun. He doesn't know yet what he wants to do in the future. For now he just hopes to finish his Bachelor of Commerce.

Balaji

Bipin Kumar

Bipin’s family is originally from Varanassi and his father moved to Mumbai 40 years ago to find work. He bought a house in a slum in the Kurla area of Mumbai and that is where Bipin was born and raised.

After graduating from 12th standard Bipin did a Photoshop course and worked in design and then sales before spotting an ad for Reality Tours in the local paper.

He started 3 years ago and hasn’t looked back since. He has a wife and 8 month old baby son. When he isn’t working he likes to spend time with them and cook.

Gaurav Kadam

Gaurav is a 22 year old second year commerce students from the north of Mumbai. He loves football and was previously the goalkeeper of the Indian U-17 national team. His career was unfortunately cut short due to injury but he is looking forward to helping out the Dharavi Girls Football Team.

Before Reality, Gaurav worked for a travel company and a call centre. He is happy to be a tour guide because he greatly prefers an active job as opposed to sitting behind a desk.

Gaurav’s father is a police officer and his mother runs a day care service out of their house.

Arish

Arishnaaz was born and brought up in Mumbai in the Mohommad Ali Road area by CST station. She went to SNDT university near Churchgate and majored in International Tourism.

In her free time she enjoys dancing and reading books, especially by John Grey and Khalid Hossoeni. She enjoys working for Reality Tours because she like hearing people’s views about slums and then seeing how they change as she introduces them to Dharavi.

Akash Rajpurohit

Akash is originally from a village in Rajasthan but he moved with his family to Mumbai when he was 3 years old. Akash is a graduate from Mumbai University where he studied financial markets. He hopes to one day continue his studies so he can be a company secretary.

Akash went to Hindi medium school so he relied on English TV shows and movies (especially science fiction ones) to learn English. If he has free time he enjoys spending it with his family.

Janna Pujari

Janna is originally from Mangalore and came to Mumbai in 2006. He lives alone in Dharavi while his family still lives in a village near Mangalore.

After his graduation from a night collage in Mumbai, he started working at a restaurant. He liked this work because he could meet many different people. But it was hard work and he wanted to learn more than he could at the restaurant, so Janna joined us as a driver here at Reality in 2009. Through his work here he learned English. After several years as a driver, he decided to become a guide to further improve his English. His dream is to save enough money to move back to his village and family.